Genesis Saga: Beginning 2017 Hype!

20170114_164236.jpg

Genesis Saga has come and gone all too quickly. Champ and the 2GG crew put on yet another great event with several notable upsets, epic pop-off’s and E.M.T. requiring heart-breaking moments to start the year in SoCal (RIP Void). Recent rainy weather gave way on Saturday for sunshine, friendly clouds and warm vibes all around. Heck, there were plenty of friendly Cloud’s inside the venue as well. One Cloud main in particular (RIP Bowser Jr.) really impressed me with his play at Genesis Saga. New Jersey’s Tweek placed 4th at this stacked event, making a great Loser’s run with solid wins over Enemy Sports | Tyrant, Panda Global | MVD, Denial | Marrs, LH | Eon, Yatta Gaming | JK and Echo Fox | MKLeo, no small feat indeed! It was my pleasure to get to ask him a few questions via Twitter about his experience at Genesis Saga, the Cloud meta, and his goals for 2017.

EzG: Early 2016 you dropped Bowser Jr. for Cloud and pretty much solo-main’d him for the rest of the year. Will you continue to solo main Cloud for 2017? If so, what aspect of the Cloud meta do you think really needs to be developed?

Tweek: Yeah, I’ll continue to solo main him. Currently, Cloud loses to Diddy Kong and Sheik, so I’ve been working on answers in those match ups.

EzG: Do you feel that the answer for those match-ups is better offense or defense or something else?

Tweek: Stage selection is the biggest part. Counter play to monkey flip and needles is very important.

EzG: So, having the space to work around those options?

Tweek: Hmm, it’s not really because of needing space. Stage selection is to avoid dying early, easier landings, good ledges/walls for Cloud.

EzG: Is there another character that you would like to see developed further in 2017?

Tweek: Donkey Kong, I think he’s better than Bowser.

EzG: Care to inflame all 10 Bowser mains* in the world and share a bit on why DK is better?

Tweek: Better tilts. He has down tilt, that is completely lag-less for spacing and confirms into grab if it trips them. Also incredible for ledge trapping. His up tilt is an incredible anti-air that beats everything and is confirmed into a kill off of a tipper jab if you buffer a turn around. His tipper jab also confirms into a grab, so I think DK has better ways to get the grab. DK can also bair twice in one short hop, which also leads to him being a better edge guarder. I believe [he] has more small intricacies which leads to more potential.

EzG: Throughout the event, when you weren’t playing, you’d sit and chat with ZeRo. What is it that you enjoyed most about teaming with him?

Tweek: We’ve never teamed before, so I’m sure a lot of the chatting was in order to make things easier for us. It was fun teaming with him, although we could’ve done much better. His reactions to every situation were pretty incredible.

EzG: In that epic last stock situation against Marss, my personal highlight of the event, was ZeRo saying anything to you? What was going through your mind?

Tweek: During the 2v1 ZeRo was encouraging me and letting me know my options. I was simply trying my best to stay as safe as possible. 20170114_141250.jpg

EzG: Definitely noticeable in those tense neutral exchanges. Besides ZeRo, you seemed to get along well with all the other top players. Are there any in particular that you feel have helped you grow as a player/person and if so, how?

Tweek: Hmm, I’m good friends with a lot of them I guess. But the top players that have helped me the most are False/Ryuga. False is my doubles partner and best friend. And Ryuga has been helping me immensely, I credit him for my recent success. Also my whole crew, DMG, means a lot to me. Love all of them.

EzG: On your Twitter, you shared a photo playing Smash with MKLeo and Dabuz and other top players where you’re housing. How’s your housing experience been this trip? Any fun moments that stand out so far? Who snores the loudest?

Tweek: The house has been incredible, they are all great people that also provide great practice. Pink fresh and MVD snore the loudest lol. All of it has been pretty fun lol, hard to say.

EzG: I say you tweet them snoring and put them on blast!

Tweek: Lmao. zzzalty-suite

EzG: So, in researching for this chat, I saw on your AskFm a few months ago you said you’d be starting college in January. How’s that going? Do you have a major planned?

Tweek: Because of the huge circuit that was announced, I’ve put college on hold for a bit. I plan on majoring in computer science though.

EzG: I guess that partly answers my next question. What are your goals for 2017, personal and in Smash, and do you have any words for your fans?

Tweek: I want to become to the best player in the world. I have nothing but thanks for anyone who supports me, much love 💗.

EzG: Lastly, Genesis Saga was full of exciting moments. Did you have a favorite moment or match from another player?

Tweek: When Marss was popping off on Elegant/Aarvark in doubles.

EzG: Awesome! Thanks for giving me the opportunity to chat with you! I hope you have a great time here in SoCal. Let me know if you need any tips on the bomb taco spots. 

Tweek: Yeah sure, no problem dude.

Great matches always pull you in and if you see it, a player’s body language says it all. Eyebrows leap and fall and every moment of hope and despair is evident in the silent prayer of twitching lips. What begins as a slow lean while timing a read develops into jolts and spasms of lurching forward. All in a fraction of a second. Tweek and Denial’s Marss passionate plays during their last hit, last stock exchange in Loser’s Semi’s of Doubles had all of Esports Arena on the edge of their seats and was my favorite highlight of the event. 2017 Smash is only just getting started and 2GG definitely brought the hype to SoCal with Genesis Saga. Make sure to attend all the events you can and tune in and share streams of the ones you can’t!

*Just a little joke, Bowser mains 🙂

Follow Tweek on Twitter! @tweekssb

Ask Tweek more about DK vs. Bowser! http://ask.fm/tweekssb

Tweek’s Youtube: https://www.youtube.com/user/iTweekG

and Twitch! https://www.twitch.tv/tweekssb

2GGC: Marrs vs Tweek Hype Losers Semifinals from front row.

Leave a comment